Welcome to the Hamburg Institute
for Innovation, Climate Protection
and Circular Economy (HiiCCE)

 

We are pioneers, initiators and thought leaders when it comes to the circular economy.
As an institute based in Hamburg, Germany, we offer our accumulated experience to provide outstanding competence of all players – in terms of the topic, science and real-life practice – for a sustainable circular economy.
HiiCCE stands for a unique spectrum of services and, at the same time, a high degree of design and innovation abilities, both nationally and internationally.
Symposium
Discover more

SAVE THE DATE:
8 AND 9 FEBRUARY 2022

The next Hamburg T.R.E.N.D. conference is taking place on 8 and 9 February 2022. If you are interested in information about the upcoming T.R.E.N.D., please feel free to sign up to our mailing list by writing to us at: info@hamburgtrend.info


REGISTER NOW

Our institute brings together the competences of Stadreinigung Hamburg, the Sustainable Resource and Waste Management working group of the Hamburg University of Technology, and the former JOMA Umwelt-Beratungsgesellschaft under a single roof.

This collaboration bundles unique competence and decades-long experience in the areas of waste management, environmental consultancy and science.

Furthermore, HiiCCE is supported by a high-calibre, ten-person Advisory Board whose renowned members contribute both diverse and profound expertise in the areas of climate protection and resource conservation – thus ensuring clients notably profit from HiiCCE in the long term.

Immense global and ecological challenges: circular economy plays a key role

The skyrocketing growth in the world’s population and the resource-intensive change in lifestyle are forcing humanity to face enormous ecological challenges.

Population growth

In 2050, our planet will have nearly 2 billion people more to shoulder than in 2020 (7.79 billion)1. The world’s waste will then rise from 2.02 billion tonnes in 2016 to 3.4 billion tonnes2. The global consumption of natural, limited resources is irresponsibly high. Only a functioning circular economy can stop this dramatic development. A revolution is more than past due.

Resource conservation / efficiency

Packaging and composites not suitable for recycling, product design which hasn’t been well thought through, over-production, the poor quality and high costs of recycled products, or inefficient collection, stand in the way of an effective and sustainable circular economy. In 2017 in Germany, only about 15 per cent of plastic waste, a total of 5.2 million tonnes, was reused4. More than half of the world’s plastic produced between 1950 and 2015 (8.3 billion tonnes) have ended up in landfills or the environment. About 2.5 billion tonnes are still in use, 0.8 billion tonnes have been incinerated and only 0.1 billion tonnes have been recycled5. For material groups such as paper, glass, wood and metal, the numbers are just as disappointing.

Climate change and the energy transition

Only a resolute and long-overdue switch from fossil to renewable energy will reduce the ruinous effects of climate change and conserve our natural resources. Here, too, is where a functioning circular economy can achieve positive results. In 2016, more than 50 per cent of all waste worldwide was deposited in landfills, and only about one-fourth of all waste was reused for generating materials or thermal heat3. Thanks to effective material/energy use of largely biogenic fractions – in combination with hydrogen strategies – we can make a significant contribution to the energy transition and thus to climate protection and resource conservation. The exploding amount of climate-relevant corrosive gases can only be halted with drastic measures – and uncontrolled waste disposal stopped.

Mobility transition

When it comes to the much-discussed mobility transition, we are lagging behind the original forecasts in the areas of electric mobility, fuel cells and synthetic fuels. The waste management industry is therefore actively working on its own alternative solutions for the long term, such as the use of electric or hydrogen-powered cleaning, transport and collection vehicles. Pioneering examples and previously tested mobility concepts can serve as the blueprint for the future. This also includes the use of waste itself as the basis for a synthetic fuel type.

Digitalisation

Artificial intelligence in the waste management industry? For many, this is hardly imaginable, yet for industry experts, it is the future. Industry 4.0 – this stands for a new era of industrial manufacturing, which is currently being driven forward on both a scientific and a political level. The ongoing linking of value-added chains is also an important step for the circular economy. For instance, digital platforms, automated processes, autonomous driving and new technologies in treatment and reuse have already been making an impact on waste management practices in some cases.

Environmental pollution

Ten rivers flushed more than 44 million tonnes of plastic waste into the world’s oceans in 2017 – the Yangtze Kiang in Asia contributed nearly one-third of this amount6. Sustainability measures to combat the destruction of the global ecosystem are demanded of all responsible parties and individuals worldwide. Additional irreparable damage to the areas significant to our livelihood – air, earth and water – are to be stopped immediately. The waste management industry must act urgently and set a global example, with sustainability concepts centred on prevention, collection and treatment.

On behalf of future generations, we have to steer our actions globally in such a way that waste is never even produced, and valuable resources can be used time and time again.
The circular economy takes on a key role when it comes to sustainability answers to the global waste problem, by carefully using non-renewable raw materials and supporting sustainable climate protection.
Our planet is our home, our only home. Where shall we go if we destroy it? (Dalai Lama)

References

1 © Statista 2020/UN DESA (Population Division), World Population Prospects: the 2019 Revision
2 © Statista 2020/World Bank, What a Waste 2.0, 2018
3 © Statista 2020/World Bank, What a Waste 2.0, 2018
4 Plastikatlas 2019, Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung und Bund für Umwelt und Naturschutz Deutschland (BUND)
5 © Statista 2020/Fachzeitschrift „AAAS (Science Advances)”, 2019
6 © Statista 2020/Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung, 2018

Integrated consultancy competence sets new standards in the circular economy

Thanks to our integrated consultancy competence, we are setting new standards for our clients in the area of the circular economy. On the one hand, we offer real-life, practical state-of-the-art solutions centred on the circular economy. On the other hand, we are redefining the circular economy for the market – with creative ideas and concepts, which aim for measurable and, at the same time, long-term results.

The ambition of HiiCCE is to bundle decades-long scientific practice, technical know-how and operative powers and to act as a hub in such a way as to enable companies and firms, economic organisations and NGOs, as well as state governments and international organisations, to profit over the long term from a circular economy on a completely new level.

HiiCCE stands for identifying global ecological challenges and providing customer-specific proposals and concepts for solving problems, especially in the context of developing waste management measures. Depending on the task at hand, the HiiCCE team supports the entire process – from concept development to planning to execution.

The special expertise of HiiCCE is based on the bundling of decades-long experience in science, planning and operations, enabling us to find holistic solutions to complex challenges.

The focus on the sustainability of solutions is just as important as on their innovative science approach, profitability and feasibility.

In this respect, HiiCCE sees waste and disposal management not only as part of the problem, but as a significant player most of all in the development of sustainable answers to global challenges.

Our services

Consultation and planning

Consultation and planning are part of the solution to ever more complex waste management challenges, for instance in the prevention and reuse of waste (the Hamburg bottle as an example) and in the treatment and disposal of waste (such as organic waste fermentation). Project-supporting aspects like permits and procurement legislation are not new to us.

Project development and monitoring

Project development and monitoring play a role when it comes to facing waste management challenges. Examples encompass development projects for sustainable waste treatment in connection with a climate-relevant use of energy, as well as intercommunity collaborations for achieving disposal safety – from the initial idea to the realisation of the project.

Collection and logistics

Experience is being gained in the collection and logistics of waste, including all the secondary services associated with this such as route planning and disposition. The integration of sustainable mobility concepts, for instance electric mobility and hydrogen-powered mobility, serve to complete the tasks.

Reuse and disposal

Experience is being gained in the operation of various treatment plants for the reuse and disposal of waste (sorting, fermentation, composting, burning) leveraging state-of-the-art knowledge and technology, including continual adaptation to the latest scientific findings.

Organisation and operations

When it comes to the development, preparation and realisation of communal waste management services – from the operational organisation to the operative execution – insights are key, especially considering economic demands and aspects such as fee collecting as seen in Hamburg.

Research and development

Innovations are the focus in the circular economy and climate protection, both in a scientific as well as a business environment, in connection with a practical implementation of the scientific know-how gained (such as with the Hamburg bottle).

Science and teaching

Experiences gained from scientific projects are directly integrated into the university courses. Students profit from real-life examples, which often extend beyond the textbook. In turn, they have the chance to work on the latest topics as part of their graduate requirements, and to cultivate contacts that have an effect outside of the studies.

Scroll Up

Willkommen beim Hamburg Institute
for Innovation, Climate Protection,
and Circular Economy (HiiCCE)

 

Wir sind Pionier, Impulsgeber und Vordenker auf dem Gebiet der Circular Economy.
Als AN-Institut mit Sitz in Hamburg bieten wir unseren Kunden dank unserer kumulierten Erfahrung eine herausragende inhaltliche, wissenschaftliche und praktische Kompetenz aller beteiligten Akteure für eine nachhaltige Kreislaufwirtschaft.
HiiCCE steht für ein einzigartiges Leistungsspektrum und ein Höchstmaß an Gestaltungs- und Innovationsfähigkeit – national sowie international.
Fachtagung
Mehr erfahren

SAVE THE DATE:
8. UND 9. FEBRUAR 2022

Die nächste Fachtagung „Hamburg T.R.E.N.D.“ findet am 8. und 9. Februar 2022 statt. Sollten Sie Interesse an Informationen zur nächsten T.R.E.N.D. haben, melden Sie sich gern bei unserer Mailingliste an unter:
info@hamburgtrend.info


JETZT ANMELDEN

Unser AN-Institut führt die Kompetenzen der Stadtreinigung Hamburg, der Arbeitsgruppe Sustainable Resource and Waste Management der Technischen Universität Hamburg und der ehemaligen JOMA Umwelt-Beratungsgesellschaft unter einem Dach zusammen.

Dieser Zusammenschluss bündelt eine einzigartige Kompetenz und jahrzehntelange Erfahrungen aus den Bereichen Abfallwirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Umweltberatung.

HiiCCE wird darüber hinaus von einem hochkarätigen zehnköpfigen Beirat unterstützt, dessen renommierte Mitglieder ebenso vielfältige wie profunde Expertisen aus den Bereichen Klima- und Ressourcenschutz in die Zusammenarbeit einbringen und so maßgeblich dazu beitragen, dass die Kunden von HiiCCE nachhaltig profitieren.

Immense globale ökologische Herausforderungen: Circular Economy mit Schlüsselrolle

Die rasant steigende Weltbevölkerung und der ressourcenintensive Lebenswandel stellen die Menschheit insbesondere vor enorme ökologische Herausforderungen.

Bevölkerungswachstum

In 2050 werden fast zwei Milliarden Menschen mehr auf der Erde leben als in 2020 (7,79 Mrd.)1. Das weltweite Abfallaufkommen soll dann nach 2,02 Milliarden Tonnen in 2016 auf 3,4 Milliarden Tonnen angestiegen sein2. Der weltweite Verbrauch natürlicher endlicher Ressourcen ist verantwortungslos hoch. Nur eine funktionierende Kreislaufwirtschaft kann diese dramatische Entwicklung stoppen. Eine Wende ist daher mehr als überfällig.

Ressourcenschutz/-effizienz

Nicht recyclinggerechte Verpackungen und Verbunde, wenig durchdachtes Produktdesign, Überproduktionen, geringe Qualität und hohe Kosten der Recyclingprodukte oder auch eine ineffiziente Erfassung verhindern eine effektive und nachhaltige Kreislaufwirtschaft. In Deutschland wurden in 2017 nur rund 15 Prozent des angefallenen Plastikmülls von insgesamt 5,2 Millionen Tonnen verwertet4. Mehr als die Hälfte der weltweit zwischen 1950 und 2015 produzierten Kunststoffe (8,3 Mrd. t) landeten auf Deponien oder in der Umwelt. Etwa 2,5 Milliarden Tonnen sind noch im Gebrauch, 0,8 Milliarden Tonnen wurden verbrannt und lediglich 0,1 Milliarden Tonnen recycelt5. Für Stoffgruppen wie Papier, Glas, Holz und Metalle sind die Zahlen ähnlich enttäuschend.

Klimawandel und Energiewende

Nur eine konsequente und längst überfällige Umstellung der Energieerzeugung von fossil auf regenerativ reduziert schädliche Klimaauswirkungen und schont natürliche Ressourcen. Auch hier kann eine funktionierende Kreislaufwirtschaft Positives leisten: In 2016 wurden weltweit über 50 Prozent aller Abfälle auf Deponien verbracht und nur etwa ein Viertel aller Abfälle stofflich oder thermisch verwertet3. Durch effektive stofflich/energetische Nutzung der überwiegend biogenen Fraktionen – in Kombination mit Wasserstoffstrategien – kann ein nicht unerheblicher Beitrag zur Energiewende und damit zum Klima- und Ressourcenschutz geleistet werden. Die explodierenden Mengen an klimarelevanten Schadgasen können nur durch drastische Maßnahmen gegen ungebremste und unkontrollierte Abfallablagerungen gebremst werden.

Mobilitätswende

Auch bei der viel diskutierten Mobilitätswende ist weltweit ein Hinterherhinken hinter den ursprünglichen Prognosen in den Bereichen E-Mobilität, Brennstoffzelle und synthetische Kraftstoffe zu verzeichnen. Die Entsorgungswirtschaft arbeitet daher aktiv und nachhaltig an eigenen Alternativlösungen wie z. B. der Nutzung von elektrisch oder mit Wasserstoff betriebenen Reinigungs-, Transport- und Sammelfahrzeugen. Richtungsweisende Beispiele und bereits erprobte Mobilitätskonzepte können Blaupausen für die Zukunft sein. Dazu gehört auch die Nutzung des Abfalls selbst als Basis für einen synthetischen Kraftstoff.

Digitalisierung

Künstliche Intelligenz in der Entsorgungswirtschaft? Für viele kaum vorstellbar, für Branchenexperten aber die Zukunft. Industrie 4.0 – das steht für ein neues Zeitalter industrieller Produktion, das derzeit wissenschaftlich und politisch stark vorangetrieben wird. Die durchgängige Vernetzung der Wertschöpfungsketten ist auch für die Kreislaufwirtschaft ein wichtiger Schritt. Beispielsweise digitale Plattformen, automatisierte Prozesse, autonomes Fahren und neue Technologien bei Behandlung und Verwertung haben zum Teil schon Einzug in die abfallwirtschaftliche Praxis gehalten.

Umweltverschmutzung

Zehn Flüsse spülten 2017 weltweit mehr als 44 Millionen Tonnen Kunststoffmüll in die Ozeane – der Jangtsekiang in Asien war mit nahezu einem Drittel daran beteiligt6. Nachhaltige Maßnahmen gegen eine Zerstörung des globalen Ökosystems sind von allen Verantwortlichen weltweit einzufordern. Weitere irreparable Schäden in den lebenswichtigen Bereichen Luft, Boden und Wasser sind sofort zu unterbinden. Die Entsorgungswirtschaft muss hier durch nachhaltige Vermeidungs-, Erfassungs- und Behandlungskonzepte dringend und weltweit Zeichen setzen.

Im Interesse zukünftiger Generationen müssen wir unser Handeln weltweit so umsteuern, dass Abfälle gar nicht erst entstehen und kostbare Ressourcen immer wieder aufs Neue verwendet werden können.
Die Circular Economy übernimmt eine Schlüsselrolle, wenn es um nachhaltige Antworten auf das globale Müllproblem durch eine Schonung nicht erneuerbarer Rohstoffe und nachhaltigen Klimaschutz geht.
Unser Planet ist unser Zuhause, unser einziges Zuhause. Wo sollen wir hingehen, wenn wir ihn zerstören. (Dalai Lama)

Quellen

1 © Statista 2020/UN DESA (Population Division), World Population Prospects: the 2019 Revision
2 © Statista 2020/World Bank, What a Waste 2.0, 2018
3 © Statista 2020/World Bank, What a Waste 2.0, 2018
4 Plastikatlas 2019, Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung und Bund für Umwelt und Naturschutz Deutschland (BUND)
5 © Statista 2020/Fachzeitschrift „AAAS (Science Advances)”, 2019
6 © Statista 2020/Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung, 2018

Integrierte Umweltberatungskompetenz setzt neue Maßstäbe im Bereich der Circular Economy

Mit unserer integrierten Beratungskompetenz setzen wir neue Maßstäbe für unsere Kunden im Bereich der Circular Economy. Wir bieten zum einen handfeste praktische State of the Art Lösungen für alle Herausforderungen rund um das Thema Kreislaufwirtschaft. Zum anderen haben wir die Circular Economy für den Markt neu definiert – mit kreativen Ideen und Konzepten, die messbare und zugleich nachhaltige Resultate erzielen.

Der Anspruch von HiiCCE ist, jahrzehntelange wissenschaftliche Praxis, technisches Know-how und operative Kräfte so zu bündeln und zugleich als HUB zu agieren, dass Unternehmen und Konzerne, Wirtschaftsvereinigungen und NGOs, aber auch Länderregierungen und internationale Organisationen von einer Circular Economy auf einem vollkommen neuen Ergebnislevel nachhaltig profitieren werden.

HiiCCE steht dafür, die globalen ökologischen Herausforderungen zu erkennen und kundenspezifische Vorschläge und Konzepte zur Problemlösung, insbesondere auch im Zusammenhang mit abfallwirtschaftlichen Maßnahmen, zu erarbeiten. Je nach Aufgabenstellung begleitet das HiiCCE Team den gesamten Prozess – von der Konzeptentwicklung über die Planung bis hin zur Implementierung.

Die besondere Expertise von HiiCCE besteht in der Bündelung jahrzehntelanger wissenschaftlicher, planerischer und betrieblicher Erfahrungen, die auch bei komplexen Herausforderungen ganzheitliche Lösungen findet.

Dabei stehen neben der Nachhaltigkeit der Lösungen auch immer der wissenschaftlich innovative Ansatz, die Wirtschaftlichkeit und auch die betriebliche Umsetzbarkeit im Vordergrund.

In diesem Zusammenhang versteht HiiCCE die Abfall- und Entsorgungswirtschaft nicht in erster Linie als Teil des Problems, sondern vor allem als wichtigen Player, um nachhaltige Antworten auf globale Herausforderungen zu erarbeiten.

Unser Leistungsspektrum

Beratung und Planung

Beratung und Planung zur Lösung auch komplexer abfallwirtschaftlicher Herausforderungen, z. B. im Bereich der Vermeidung und Wiederverwertung von Abfällen (Projektbeispiel Hamburg-Flasche) wie auch im Bereich der Behandlung und Entsorgung (Projektbeispiel Bioabfallvergärung). Dabei sind uns projektbegleitende Aspekte, wie z. B. genehmigungs- und vergaberechtliche Aspekte, nicht fremd.

Projektentwicklung/-steuerung

Projektentwicklung und -steuerung bei der Vorbereitung und Umsetzung abfallwirtschaftlicher Aufgabenstellungen. Beispielhaft hierfür sind zu nennen Entwicklungsprojekte der nachhaltigen Abfallbehandlung in Verbindung mit einer klimarelevanten Energienutzung sowie interkommunale Kooperationen für die Aufgabenerfüllung der Entsorgungssicherheit – jeweils von der Projektidee bis hin zur Realisierung.

Erfassung und Logistik

Erfahrungen im Bereich der Erfassung und Logistik von Abfällen einschließlich aller damit verbundenen Nebenleistungen wie z. B. Tourenplanung und Disposition. Integration nachhaltiger Mobilitätskonzepte wie z. B. E-Mobilität und Wasserstoffmobilität zur Aufgabenerfüllung

Verwertung und Entsorgung

Erfahrungen im Betrieb unterschiedlichster Behandlungsanlagen zur Verwertung und Entsorgung von Abfällen (Sortierung, Vergärung, Kompostierung, Verbrennung) nach dem neuesten Stand von Wissenschaft und Technik einschließlich einer kontinuierlichen Anpassung an neueste Erkenntnisse

Organisation und Betrieb

Erfahrungen bei der Entwicklung, Vorbereitung und Umsetzung kommunaler abfallwirtschaftlicher Leistungen von der betrieblichen Organisation bis hin zur operativen Umsetzung, auch unter Beachtung wirtschaftlicher Anforderungen und Aspekte wie z. B. Gebühreneinzug am Beispiel der Metropole Hamburg

Forschung und Entwicklung

Erfahrungen mit der Innovation in den Bereichen Circular Economy und Climate Protection, sowohl im wissenschaftlichen wie auch gewerblichen Umfeld in Verbindung mit praxisnaher Umsetzung des erworbenen wissenschaftlichen Know-hows (Projektbeispiel Hamburg-Flasche).

Wissenschaft und Lehre

Erfahrungen aus den wissenschaftlichen Projekten finden direkten Eingang in die universitäre Lehre. So profitieren die Studierenden von einem ausgeprägten Praxisbezug, der oftmals über Lehrbuchinhalte hinaus geht. Im Gegenzug haben sie die Möglichkeit, mit studentischen Abschlussarbeiten an aktuellen Themen mitzuwirken und Kontakte zu knüpfen, die über das Studium hinaus wirken.

Scroll Up